Session 5: Response to Prompts

1. Attend the synchronous meeting with the instructor via Skype. At least 1 person (primary contact) from the group must attend the session. The purpose of this session is for you to conduct the major portions of the analysis for the course you are developing.

2. Work With Team To Understand Results of Analysis Meeting and Other Analysis Activities

3. Develop a course plan using the 11 instructional design steps presented in chapter 1 of the text (Design Quickly and Reliably).* This plan is due at the end of the next session and will be emailed to the instructor by the primary contact for your group. The process that you use to develop the course plan is up to you. Recommendations include:

a) Define the Problem/Task

b) Brainstorm Possible Solutions

c) Decide On A Course of Action With Specific Tasks and Artifacts

d) Divide Tasks/Responsibility and Assign to Group Members (accountability)

e) Set Due Dates

4. The development plan must be emailed to the instructor by the primary contact for the group.

5. Each individual member of the team will make a blog post this week discussing their role in the group project and their thoughts on the instructional design process in light of this project.

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I decided to work on this project individually. Working individually definitely had its advantages and disadvantages. One of the advantages of working on my own was being able to take this project in any direction that I wanted, but a major disadvantage was not having others constructive criticism in order to improve my original ideas. Since I was on my own, I utilized our previous assignment, the analysis plan activity, to steer my design in the right direction. In addition, I made use of the ideas posted in my previous blog post and reviewed the 11 instructional design steps thoroughly through out this weeks assignment.

The 11 instructional design process definitely helped in the completion of the course plan assignment. It allowed me to look into every important detail that helps shape the final product. Designing an online course, without a doubt is a difficult task that requires the instructors patience and dedication. The process mentioned in Horton’s text makes the process a little less painful, however in the end it can be disappointing to see that all the time invested into the online course is not immediately seen in the ending results. Dr. Newberry mentions this in his session 5 introduction by stating the following, “One of the things that surprises new Instructional Designers is the amount of work done that doesn’t directly show in the final product”. In the end, designers of an online course can feel the satisfaction of knowing they successfully created an effective online learning environment once they see the progress their students demonstrate in every assignment.

4 thoughts on “Session 5: Response to Prompts

  1. Hi Jacqueline,
    I agree that not all of our work is reflected in our final product. So much more goes into instructional design that goes unnoticed. What is your topic of choice for this project?

    Like

  2. I agree that designing an online course is a difficult task! Not only does it require patience and dedication but in a way it requires a whole new way of thinking about how we teach. I used Horton’s 11 steps to help me think about the process. Even so, I have a long way to go before I can call myself an online instructional designer! Will you be posting your process?

    Like

Leave a Reply

